Book Chat: As the World Dies Untold Tales

Volume 1

by Rhiannon Frater

Three tales, each about characters who are in the novel, As The World Dies, or mentioned as part of a back story. It’s their stories…as the world crumbles when the undead rise.

MYRA’S HORROR BLOG REVIEWS : I wanted to write reviews as if I were sharing the love of a book with a friend. What I liked about it, from storyline to characters; to include any parts that had a negative impact on me as a reader. Join me on the couch as we explore today’s exciting read.

2008

Amazon

 

 

THE FIRST DAYS: AS THE WORLD DIES introduced Jenni and Katie and their harrowing journey to the makeshift fort in the Texas Hill Country.

But theirs is not the only tale to be told.

In the first volume of the AS THE WORLD DIES UNTOLD TALES experience three terrifying tales of those who are forced to face the unrelenting and hungry walking dead.

Deep in the Texas Hill Country, a man and his little dog takes refuge in a bed and breakfast located in the hills above a doomed town where an infested rescue center might unleash the hungry undead…
On a deserted highway slicing through the desolation of West Texas, a woman struggles to survive as she faces the horrifying aftermath of the rise of the zombies…

And finally, discover what happens on the first day to Katie’s beloved wife, Lydia, as the world dies…

Review:

In The First Days novel, we were introduced to several characters, but didn’t get a lot of info about their backgrounds. Frater fans wanted more, so As the World Dies was born. This “side story” is a collection of short stories that gives readers the back story on Lydia, Monica and Eric.

Katie is an important character in The Last Days, and in this anthology we discover how her wife Lydia died when the outbreak occurred.  Monica is a supporting character in the novel, and her ironic escape when the zombies rise was interesting.

My favorite character in As the World Dies is Eric, and not just because the author spends more time on his story. He is a brainy nerd, who has attained wealth and a beautiful model girlfriend, Brandy. As the undead awaken, Eric is ensconced in an isolated B & B with his lover.

It doesn’t take long for Eric’s peace to be disrupted; facing zombies, including Brandy. He must quickly learn how to survive and defend himself. His canine companion, Pepe, is an adorable Russell Terrier. His behavior is so similar to my dog it gave the story a very real sense of reality.

Eric’s safe haven is shattered when he helps several people running from a horde. He, Stacey and her brother Sean, escape on an ATV Eric parked by the house as a Plan B. In fact, I admired the way Eric thought through everything and made plans in case he had to leave. They head toward Ashley Oaks, a fortified town. Eric had been conversing by email with a representative of the town while at the B & B. Sadly, Sean was bitten and he has to be killed.

When Eric and Stacey see the constructed fence surrounding the town swamped by zombies, they decide to seek temporary safety atop a water tower nearby and wait for rescue. Luckily, Eric put “HELP” in large letters, using duct tape, on the water tank. They are rescued by a team from the town, and feel comfortable around the new people. Eric and Stacey like their new home and their relationship finally takes the next step past friendship. I really liked that Eric realized Brandy’s type of love wasn’t good, that Stacey was beautiful inside and out, with no need for makeup or fancy hairdos.

Recommended for fans of The First Days, Rhiannon Frater and zombie readers.

 

 

 

 

NOTE: All my reviews are published in Uncaged Book Reviews emag. This review will be in the January issue.

 

Uncaged Home